This event is endorsed
and organized by

12th EAI International Conference on Cognitive Radio Oriented Wireless Networks

September 20–21, 2017 | Lisbon, Portugal

General Chair

  • Paulo Marques, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)

Professor Paulo Marques received his Ph.D from the University of Aveiro (Portugal). He is Professor at Polytechnic Institute of Castelo Branco and Senior Researcher at the Instituto de Telecomunicações. He was the scientific coordinator of the FP7 COGEU project (Cognitive radio systems for an efficient use of TV white spaces in the European context) during 2010-2012 and the scientific coordinator of the FP7 CRS-i project (Cognitive Radio Standardization Initiative) during 2013-2015. As part of this work he has taken up Chairmanship of the European Commission’s “Radio Access and Spectrum-RAS” cluster projects of the ICT Work Programme. He has worked on cognitive radio for more than 10 years. He is a co-author of the IEEE DySPAN P1900.6 cognitive radio standard and member of the ETSI RRS. He has been invited to talk at many international events on dynamic spectrum management and cognitive radio. He has been involved in TPCs of major conferences in the field of wireless communication, including IEEE DySPAN 15.


Technical Program Committee Chairs

  • Dominique Noguet, CEA-LETI (France)
  • Jonathan Rodriguez, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)
  • Leonardo Goratti, Create-Net (Italy)
  • Shahid Mumtaz, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)
  • Michael Gundlach, NOKIA (Germany)

Publicity and Social Media Chair

  • Muttukrishnan Rajarajan, City University of London (UK)
  • Youping Zhao, Beijing Jiaotong University (China)

Publication Chair

  • Ayman Radwan,  Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)

Panel Chair

  • Klaus Moessner, University of Surrey (UK)

Workshop Chair

  • Panagiotis Demestichas, University of Pireaus (Greece)

Tutorial Chair

  • Luiz da Silva, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
  • Eduard Jorswieck, TU Dresden (Germany)

Sponsorship & Exhibition Chair

  • Hugo Marques, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)

Demonstration Chairs

  • Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • Rogério Dionísio, Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco (Portugal)

Posters and PhD Track Chair

  • Filipe Pinto, ALTICE LABS (Portugal)

Keynote Chair

  • Pravir Chawdhry, European Commission

Local Chairs

  • Claudia Barbosa, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)
  • Joaquim Bastos, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)

Web Chair

  • Hugo Marques, Instituto de Telecomunicações (Portugal)

Conference Coordinator

Monika Szabova, EAI (European Alliance for Innovation)